Journey to the West In Simplified Chinese & Pinyin

Journey to the West Vol 1
Journey to the West Vol 2

Journey to the West Vol 3

Journey to the West or Xiyou Ji (literally: ‘West-Wandering Chronicles’) is a Chinese novel published in the 16th century during the Ming dynasty and attributed to Wu Cheng’en. It is one of the Four Great Classical Novels of Chinese literature.

The novel is an extended account of the legendary pilgrimage of the Tang dynasty Buddhist monk who traveled to the “Western Regions”, that is, Central Asia and India, to obtain Buddhist sacred texts and returned after many trials and much suffering. He has three disciples cum protectors who helped him as an atonement for their own sins. These disciples are Sun Wukong (the Monkey God), Zhu Bajie and Sha Wujing.

Journey to the West has strong roots in Chinese folk religion,  Chinese mythology, Confucianist, Taoist and Buddhist philosophy, and the pantheon of Taoist immortals and Buddhist bodhisattvas are still reflective of some Chinese religious attitudes today.

We have compiled the entire text of Journey to the West into 3 volumes and included the Word List for easy reference to English definition of the Chinese words:

Volume 1 – Chapters 1 to 41
Volume 2 – Chapters 42 to 84
Volume 3 – Chapters 85 to 100 and Word List

This is for Advanced Learners who are HSK 5 and above. We will be publishing an Abridged version in the future. Subscribe to our newsletter to be informed of new publications.

Sample Chapter Audio File

Where to Buy

Vol 1
Google Book
Google Play

Vol 2
Google Book
Google Play

Vol 3
Google Book
Google Play

Chinese Stories for Beginners

Chinese Classics – Advanced Learner

Journey to the West Series
Water Margin Series
Romance of the Three Kingdoms Series
Dream of the Red Chamber Series

HSK 1 Storybook Series

HSK 1 Storybook

HSK 1 Storybook Vol 2
HSK 1 Storybook Vol 3

HSK 2 Storybook Series

HSK 2 Storybook Vol 1
HSK 2 Storybook Vol 2
HSK 2 Storybook Vol 3

HSK 3 Storybook Series

HSK 3 Storybook Vol 1
HSK 3 Storybook Vol 2
Coming Soon