Romance of the Three Kingdoms In Simplified Chinese & Pinyin

Romance of the Three Kingdoms Vol 1
Romance of the Three Kingdoms Vol 2
Romance of the Three Kingdoms Vol 3

Romance of the Three Kingdoms (simplified Chinese: 三国演义; pinyin: Sānguó Yǎnyì) is a 14th-century historical novel attributed to Luo Guanzhong. It is set in the turbulent years towards the end of the Han dynasty and the Three Kingdoms period in Chinese history, starting in 169 AD and ending with the reunification of the land in 280 AD.

The story – part historical, part legend, and part mythical – romanticises and dramatises the lives of feudal lords and their retainers, who tried to replace the dwindling Han dynasty or restore it. While the novel follows hundreds of characters, the focus is mainly on the three power blocs that emerged from the remnants of the Han dynasty, and would eventually form the three states of Cao Wei, Shu Han, and Eastern Wu. The novel deals with the plots, personal and military battles, intrigues, and struggles of these states to achieve dominance for a period of almost 100 years.

Romance of the Three Kingdoms is acclaimed as one of the Four Great Classical Novels of Chinese literature; it has a total of 800,000 words and nearly a thousand dramatic characters (mostly historical) in 120 chapters.

We have compiled the entire text of Journey to the West into 3 volumes:

Volume 1 – Chapters 1 to 52
Volume 2 – Chapters 53 to 102
Volume 3 – Chapters 103 to 120 and Word List

This is for Advanced Learners who are at HSK 5 and above. We will be publishing an Abridged version in the future. Subscribe to our newsletter to be informed of new publications.

Sample Chapter Audio File

Where to Buy

Vol 1
Google Book
Google Play

Vol 2
Google Book
Google Play

Vol 3
Google Book
Google Play

Chinese Stories for Beginners

Chinese Classics – Advanced Learner

Journey to the West Series
Water Margin Series
Romance of the Three Kingdoms Series
Dream of the Red Chamber Series

HSK 1 Storybook Series

HSK 1 Storybook

HSK 1 Storybook Vol 2
HSK 1 Storybook Vol 3

HSK 2 Storybook Series

HSK 2 Storybook Vol 1
HSK 2 Storybook Vol 2
HSK 2 Storybook Vol 3

HSK 3 Storybook Series

HSK 3 Storybook Vol 1
HSK 3 Storybook Vol 2
Coming Soon